Aviators Sign Zephyr as 2019 Title Sponsor

Posted on April 22, 2019

The San Diego Aviators of World TeamTennis have announced that Zephyr, an Encinitas-based multifaceted developer in retail, hospitality, residential and industrial environments, has signed on as their Title Sponsor for the 2019 Aviators season.

Zephyr first partnered with the Aviators last year. After watching matches, engaging with fans and entertaining clients, Zephyr Founders, Brad Termini and Dane Chapin, enjoyed the WTT experience so much, they wanted to have a greater presence at each Aviators home match this season, according to team officials.

“We think Aviators owner Fred Luddy has brought a great sports product to the San Diego community with World TeamTennis and the Aviators,” Termini said. “We want to be involved to not only enjoy some great tennis ourselves but to grow the awareness of the Aviators with our network and share the excitement and fun that can be had at the matches.”

Zephyr has a vision for excellence with an appetite for the extraordinary. Their exceptional design work in many projects can be seen throughout Southern California with The Park, Bankers Hill, a luxury mid-rise in Uptown San Diego, South Cove, a coastal community of 168 homes in Dana Point, and upcoming projects like mixed-use development Solana 101 and Birmingham & Lake, a collection of eight custom homes in Cardiff. Earlier this year the company launched the Zephyr Foundation, a 501 (c)(3) nonprofit agency whose mission is to proactively and thoughtfully plan charitable contributions in the communities they are developing in and beyond.

Coach John Lloyd of Great Britain returns to lead the Aviators for the fifth straight year. His roster for the 2019 WTT season includes Astra Sharma of Australia, Jonny O’Mara of Great Britain, Anna-Lena Groenefeld of Germany and American Christian Harrison.

The Vegas Rollers and Orlando Storm, both expansion franchises, have joined World TeamTennis this season. The Storm will play at the USTA National Campus in Lake Nona, Fla., and the Rollers will make their home at Orleans Arena in Las Vegas.

The 2019 WTT regular season, which features eight teams, will be played July 14-31. The top four teams will advance to the WTT playoffs at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, with the semifinals scheduled for Friday, August 2, followed by the WTT Finals on Saturday, August 3.

The Aviators will play the following home matches at the Omni La Costa Resort & Spa in Carlsbad, Calif.